Public Service Points

The public service points are a key element of the master beekeeper program. Points may be acquired by performing the following activities:

  • A. Presentations on beekeeping and related topics to non-beekeeping groups.
  • B. Programs on beekeeping and related topics to school groups.
  • C. Presentation of WASBA or WA State approved programs to beekeeping groups.
  • D. Publication of beekeeping and related topic articles in journals, newsletters, etc.
  • E. Serving as an officer/director/trustee of a local beekeeping organization.
  • F. Working at a beekeeping exhibit open to the public.
  • G. Assisting 4-H or FFA members, and other youths with beekeeping projects.
  • H. Serving as an officer/board member/regional representative of the WASBA.
  • I. Programs/lectures/demonstrations on specific beekeeping topics to beekeeping groups.
  • J. Judging honey and/or beekeeping products at fairs and other competitions.
  • K. Conducting courses for advanced beekeepers.
  • L. Provide one to one instruction to beginning beekeepers.
  • M. Give courses to beginning beekeepers.
  • N. Perform special programs, work, courses, exhibits, or other efforts approved by the WASBA Master Beekeeper Committee.

The following general rules apply:

  1. A maximum of 50% of accumulated units may be obtained in one category.
  2. 1 unit equals 1 hour, with a maximum of 3 units per presentation in categories A, B, C, I, K and M.
  3. 1 unit equals 2 hours with a maximum of 3 units per recipient in categories G and L.
  4. 5 units for an article published in a national magazine or publishing one state or local association newsletter. 2 units for an article published in a local or state newsletter as specified in category D.
  5. 15 units for serving as an elected officer for one year, and 5 units for serving as a trustee/-executive board member for one year as specified in categories E & H.
  6. 1 unit equals 2 hours in category F.
  7. 1 unit equals 1 hour in category J.
  8. A passing grade of 75 percent on examinations is required.