Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Neonicotinoids – Our Toxic Countryside ABF

March 26 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Neonicotinoids – Our Toxic Countryside
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. MT / 5:00 p.m. PT / 4:00 p.m. AKST / 3:00 p.m. HST
Graham White is a beekeeper and conservationist. He has devoted much of the last eight years to campaigning against the global use of neonicotinoid pesticides, widely held to be responsible for the deaths of over ten million bee colonies in the United States, and for the deaths of uncountable millions of birds, amphibians and other pollinating insects.

 

SESSION DETAILS:
Join Graham White, as he discusses his article, “Neonicotinoids – Our Toxic Countryside”. Since the mid 1990s we have witnessed the catastrophic collapse of millions of honeybee colonies around the world: at least a million colonies died in France, four million in America, three million in Argentina, and hundreds of thousands more in Germany, Italy, Australia and the UK. At the same time, in those same countries, scientists have documented a parallel crash in the populations of frogs, toads, newts, birds and bats – all in relation to arable croplands. Is there a connection between these disparate phenomena?

 

 

IMPORTANT SESSION FORMAT / REGISTRATION INFORMATION

The sessions will be conducted via the GoToWebinar online meetings platform, which means the presenter will have a visual presentation, as well as an audio presentation. Upon entering the session online, you may choose whether to listen to the presentation through your computer’s speakers or through your phone.

 

Reserve your spot today by e-mailing Jon Magee, ABF membership coordinator, at jonmagee@abfnet.org or by calling the ABF offices at 404.760.2875. Registration closes 48 business hours before the scheduled session. Twenty-four hours before the session, the registered participant will receive an e-mail confirming participation, along with the necessary information to join the session. If an e-mail address is not provided, the ABF will call the participant with the information. If you are unable to make the session, don’t fear! Each session will be recorded and available on the ABF website for member-only access.

 

Details

Date:
March 26
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Event Category:

Organizer

American Beekeeping Federation
Phone:
404-760-2875
Email:
Website:
http://abfnet.org/